You Know It’s Serious When the Colored Pencils Come Out.

My thoughts on planning the big stuff… what is your planning style?

LB Living Better Travel & Adventure

20140304_073736

You Know It’s Serious When the Colored Pencils Come Out.

No, that is not my children’s homework paper, that’s me, planning our 30 day cross-country train trip.   Time for all the suggestions, pieces and parts to come together in a way that makes sense for me, and that my friends means a large piece of paper and colored pencils.

Snarky comments from my family aside, they know when the big paper and the color coding hits the kitchen table, we are all in.  No longer a pipe dream, a simple idea, a mere suggestion, these accoutrements mean it’s happening.

Despite the on-line planning software from Amtrak, the guidebooks, the terrific suggestions and itineraries, the excel spreadsheets and lists,  nothing comes together in my mind like hand writing or drawing the complete picture.   And so, here I am with my thirty neatly drawn boxes representing the 30 days of our trip.  The…

View original post 114 more words

Leave a Reply

