Can You Sing!?

SUMMERSTARHEADER(click here and vote for #42)

Can you Sing!?

No, no I cannot sing and I really wish you would stop asking.   I’ve clicked on you at least a thousand times in the last five days and you continue to ask the same the question….Can you Sing!?  I couldn’t sing “vote” five days ago and I still cannot sing today.  But I can vote and voting is what I’ve been doing for the last five days virtually non-stop!  “vote”

You see, my eldest entered a singing contest that is really a popularity contest and then it is an actual singing contest. The top twelve vote getters are granted the opportunity to sing on the big stage at our local county fair.  When I asked my daughter what number entrant she was, she answered #42!  “vote”

#42 really?  We have to climb 30 spots for you to even get in this thing? “vote”  And so it started, quietly at first and then we were addicted no I think the accurate term here is obsessed.  We started to involve family and friends, we are using kindles, iPods, laptops, desktops, and phones.  Promoting with messages, email, facebook posts, pictures, and now shamelessly a blog post.  “vote”

I have voted in every room of the house, while brushing my teeth and watching a movie.  My kids and I went to the946248_631332966891753_1947997556_n library and I slid between empty computer seats with the website up on all and voted.  We have voted at 2:00 am and 10 pm and all times in between.  “vote”

So here we are, two and a half days of voting left to go.  Currently tied for twelfth place (or 11th depending on the moment in time).  We have learned so much about on-line contest the most important of which is to NEVER do it again!

But once you are in it, you really have to be all in so hence a post on my “business” page. I should be working on the book, posting interesting content, making new memes and getting the 52 TO DO blog off the ground.  Instead, I “vote” (and yes each of these red votes are me stopping while writing to vote!) am obsessively, voting at least until Thursday at 5:30 pm at which point we will either be headed to the big stage or sadly not…

A couple of things we have learned about trying to “win” an on-line voting contest:

– shameless plugs on all of your social media

– ask people to please share not just vote

– disable cookies on your internet browsers and repeat voting quickly

– don’t be shy

– yes it can become obsessive  “vote”

– be pleasantly surprised by the kindness of strangers!

So if you are so inclined, whether or not you can sing, please click on the banner at the top of this post and vote for my daughter #42!  We would be most grateful.  The very best part of this past five days is the helpful voting and sharing from total strangers.

4 responses to “Can You Sing!?

  1. I voted….I laptop voted, and iPad voted and iPhone voted!! Good luck to her!!

  2. I’ve voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted and voted. I voted so many times its almost obnoxious as this comment.

  3. Announced on the radio this morning …. she got in to the top twelve finalists… so the voting was worth it! https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=633468366678213 the video of her receiving the news!

Leave a Reply

