Don’t Let A Cell Phone Kill My Child

March 2014  ~ Please support this non-profit group’s efforts to stop distracted driving
https://www.facebook.com/EndDistractedDrving

Weeks after this post was printed the following research on hands-free devices was published….thank you to all who reposted and shared…overwhelming!

http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2013/06/12/aaa-study-using-hands-free-devices-distracts-drivers

“I don’t want to be the parent that speaks from experience.  I don’t want the phone call from the emergency room or worse to have the police at my doorstep.  I don’t want to write a eulogy or speak at other schools about how my child was killed in a car accident.  I don’t want to talk about her last text.  I don’t want to hear your apologies.  

There is no good that can come from a car and a phone.

cellphone_carI’ve seen you change lanes without looking or thinking; you waved an apology and continued talking.

Your head is crooked, holding the phone with your shoulder, two hands on the wheel does not make it better.

The car swerved when you dropped the phone, you only looked down for a second.

The near misses from your oblivion, even a beep of the horn doesn’t get your attention.

I’ve seen you talking when I’m jogging and I am well aware that you do not see me.

It’s tempting at a stop light or in bumper to bumper traffic – I was just checking messages I didn’t mean to hit you.

You drift over the yellow line and back.

I don’t want to read about your accident in the newspaper.

I don’t want my children in your car.

Your actions validate the behavior – do you want your teen driver to take just one call?untitled

There are distracted driver laws and statistics on accidents and deaths, but we don’t need those to know right and wrong.  In 1970 the Mother’s Against Drunk Driving campaign put a social taboo on drinking and driving.  While it has not eradicated the problem, it has certainly changed the societal norms.

Can we do this for cell phones?  Can we make it socially unacceptable to talk and drive?  Our children learn what they live, they will do what we do, not what we say!  Your baby, your young child, your tween will be a driver before you know it. They will carry with them the experience of driving with you.  What do you want to teach them with your actions?

I need your help.  I can warn my soon to be driver a thousand times, but I’m not her only influence.  She watches you, her dear Auntie, my loving neighbor, her teacher pulling into school, and millions of others every day.  If we don’t want to bury our children because of a senseless distracted driving accident, then we have to stop driving distracted ourselves.  So, I beg you, don’t call me when your driving, and please understand when I don’t answer you from my car.  I know it is a small change, but I know we hold the keys to this solution.

From this day forward you have my word, for your child and mine, I will not let my cell phone distract my driving. Will you join me and just stop?

Please do not let a cell phone kill my child.  I know you do not want to be that parent…

3 responses to “Don’t Let A Cell Phone Kill My Child

  1. Reblogged this on LB Living Better and commented:

    Thank you for all of the sharing and reposting. Additional research about hands-free devices just published in June. We can stop this one driver at a time!

  2. Awesome message! I so agree! I have always thought a website needs to be created where people can upload texting photos with the make and model of the car and town they are driving in. Of course the photo would be taken by the passenger in our car. We have taken photos a couple of times and it is quite amazing how quickly the phone is put down! Thanks for sharing and this is such an important message. Will share this post on my Social Network. Thanks

Leave a Reply

